IHA Elects New Directors; Jaffee Elected Chairman

The International Housewares Association has elected three new directors to the board of directors. The new directors are John Collins, partner/managing director, Neatfreak; Scott Severinson, president, Wüsthof-Trident of American, Inc.; and Will Symonds, president, DKB Household USA Corp. They were elected to three-year terms that begin Oct. 1, 2013 and end Sept. 30, 2016.

Also elected were new board officers: chairman Keith Jaffee, O2 Cool, vice chairman/chairman elect Michael Magerma; treasurer Dave Elliott, general manager/small appliances, KitchenAid. All officers serve one-year terms from Oct. 1, 2013 to Sept 30, 2014.

Retiring from the board are Richard L. Boynton, Jr., presidet/CEO, Jura Capresso, Inc.; Sheldon Goodman, president, Spectrum Diversified Designs, Inc.; and Gavin Lam, CEO, Lynns Concepts Inc. Re-appointed for a second three-year term were David Elliott, Daniel Oehy, president, Swissmar; Gary Seehoff, chairman, Evriholder Products, LLC; and Jenna Sellers Miller, president, Architec.

Collins joined Neatfreak, a home organization and laundry product company, in 2008. Prior to joining the housewares industry, Collins was chief marketing officer for Hilco Consumer Capital from 2007-08, president and CMO and Gen X Sports from 1999-2002 and general manager/North America at Bauer Nike Inc. from 1987-99. He also serves as a board member of the Canadian Hardware & Housewares Manufacturers Association.

Severinson has spent his entire housewares career with Wüsthof, a kitchen knives and utensils manufacturer, joining the company in 1979.  Over the years he has served in various roles, including territory manager, sales manager and then vice president of sales and marketing, and was named president in 2004.

Symonds has worked at DKB Household USA since 2003. Before being named president in 2010, he was based in London as head of DKB’s International Sales. The company is part of the Diethelm Brands Group and markets brands including Zyliss, Cole & Mason, Ken Hom and Jamie Oliver. Prior to joining DKB, Symonds held exporting and sales positions at Douglas Gill International Ltd. from 1999-2003 and Liquid Levers Automotive Ltd. from 1997-99.

Also serving on the IHA Board are: Hildy Abrams, CEO, Gourmet Settings Inc.; Brett Bradshaw, president, Bradshaw International, Inc.; Gregory C. Cairo, president, Groupe SEB USA; Evan Dash, CEO, StoreBound; Steven Fraser, chairman, Knightsbridge Global Ltd.; Anthony E. Kircher, president, Winix Inc.; Daniel Oehy, president, Swissmar; William P. Reibl, president, Infusion Living LLC and immediate past IHA Chairman; Erik Reid, general manager, Kyocera Advanced Ceramics;  David Sabin, CEO, The Fuller Brush Company; Gary Seehoff, CEO, Evriholder Products, LLC; Jenna Sellers Miller, president, Architec; and Jay Zilinskas, managing director, Meyer Corporation.

Serving on the executive committee of the board are Keith Jaffee, Michael Magerman, David Elliott, Bill Reibl and Gary Seehoff.