Fred Meyer President Gust Retires, Burt Named To Position

The Kroger Co. has announced the retirement of Fred Meyer president Lynn Gust. The company has promoted Jeff Burt to succeed him.

Burt has served as president of Kroger’s central division.

Gust started his Fred Meyer career in 1970, prior to the retailer’s acquisition by Kroger, as a parcel clerk at the Fourth Plain store in Vancouver, WA. After long advancement, Kroger named Gust its vp/operations in 2011. The company promoted him to the Fred Meyer president’s post in 2012.

“Throughout his distinguished career, Lynn as always led by empowering, encouraging and supporting others,” said Rodney McMullen, Kroger’s chairman and CEO. “Lynn is widely respected throughout our company and industry for his passion for people, the food business, and the communities we serve. The entire Kroger family wishes Lynn and his family all the best in retirement.”

Kroger operates 2,774 supermarkets and multi-department stores in 35 states and the District of Columbia under two dozen local banner names including, in addition to its namesake and Fred Meyer locations, City Market, Dillons, Food 4 Less, Fry’s, Harris Teeter, Jay C, King Soopers, Mariano’s, Pick ‘n Save, QFC, Ralphs and Smith’s.