Newell Names Two To Board, Nominates A Third

Just weeks after the resignations of three board members— all former Jarden executives— Newell Brands has named two new members to its board of directors with a third to be voted on at a later date.

Effective immediately, James Craigie and Debra Crew will join Newell’s board. In addition, the company said it intends to nominate Judith Sprieser to the board of directors at the company’s upcoming annual shareholders meeting.

Michael Polk, Newell’s CEO, said the new board members strengthens the company’s position as it seeks to accelerate its transformation plan and evolve its business.

Craigie currently serves as non-executive chairman and is the former CEO of Church & Dwight Co., Inc., a developer and marketer of a broad range of household and personal care consumer products and specialty products. He previously was the president and CEO of Spalding Sports and held senior management positions with Kraft Foods.

Crew is the former CEO of Reynolds American. Before joining Reynolds, she spent five years at Pepsi, where she served as president, North America nutrition; as president, PepsiCo Americas beverages; and as president, Western Europe. Prior to her tenure with PepsiCo, Crew held positions at Kraft Foods, Nestlé and Mars, Inc. from 1997 to 2010.

Sprieser served until March 2005 as CEO of Transora, Inc., one of the first business-to-business marketplaces for global consumer packaged goods companies, which she led the development of in 2000. Previously, she was an executive with Sara Lee Corporation from 1987 to 2000, serving as CEO of Sara Lee’s food group from 1999 to 2000, CFO of Sara Lee Corporation from 1995 to 1999, and other operating and financial positions prior to that.

News of the new board members at Newell comes weeks after former Jarden chairman Martin Franklin, former Jarden CEO Jim Lillie and another former Jarden executive, Ian Ashken, teamed with hedge fund Starboard Value LP in an effort to replace Polk and the Newell board of directors. Published reports indicated that Starboard and its associates own less than 5% of Newell Brands.

Published reports said that Starboard is looking to make Lillie Newell CEO and Franklin chairman of the board.

In a filing with the Securities and Exchange Commission on January 25, the company reported that Ian Ashken, Domenico De Sole and Martin Franklin resigned from the board as of January 21.