ShopperTrak: Holiday Store Traffic Strongest On Black Friday

Black Friday was tops again for holiday traffic during the 2019 retail season, according to ShopperTrak.

Sensormatic Solutions has released the annual ShopperTrak traffic and behavior trends recap for the 2019 holiday season, defined as the period from the Sunday before Thanksgiving Day, November 24, through Saturday, December 28, 2019. As it turns out, the initial prediction regarding the top 10 busiest store shopping days in the U.S. aligned in some instances with the actual busiest store shopping days. The busiest shopping days of 2019, Sensormatic noted, accounted for 46.5% of the total season’s brick-and-mortar traffic.

Sensormatc pegged the actual 2019 busiest U.S. shopping days as:

  • Friday, November 29– Black Friday
  • Saturday, December 21– Saturday before Christmas or Super Saturday
  • Monday, December 23– Monday before Christmas
  • Sunday, December 22– Sunday before Christmas
  • Saturday, December 14– Two Saturdays before Christmas
  • Saturday, November 30– Saturday after Black Friday
  • Thursday, December 26– Day after Christmas
  • Saturday, December 28– Saturday after Christmas
  • Friday, December 27– Friday after Christmas
  • Saturday, December 7– First Saturday in December

“This year the holiday calendar varied greatly from 2018,” said Brian Field, senior director of global retail consulting for ShopperTrak. “With Black Friday landing during the final days of November, the holiday shopping calendar was compressed, which meant fewer shopping days this season. Additionally, there were only three Saturdays in December before the Christmas holiday, while there were four in 2018. The calendars align more closely between 2019 and 2020, except that Christmas Day will be on a Friday in 2020.”